The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080, by Johann Sebastian Bach

AOF Home Page



"Über dieser Fuge..."
Structure of The Art of Fugue
The "unfinished" fugue
About the realization
How to listen to The Art of Fugue
About the narratives below


The Art of Fugue

Simple Fugues
Contrapunctus I  (3:52)
Contrapunctus II  (3:12)
Contrapunctus III  (3:49)
Contrapunctus IV  (3:18)

Canon alla Ottava  (4:12)

Stretto Fugues
Contrapunctus V  (2:24)
Contrapunctus VI  (4:20)
Contrapunctus VII  (2:49)

Canon alla Decima  (4:44)

Double and Triple Fugues
Contrapunctus VIII  (5:17)
Contrapunctus IX  (2:46)
Contrapunctus X  (3:29)
Contrapunctus XI  (6:58)

Canon alla Duodecima  (3:33)

Mirror Fugues
Contrapunctus XII + inversus  (3:36)
Contrapunctus XIII + inversus  (4:23)

Canon per Augmentationem  (4:16)

Quadruple Fugue
Contrapunctus XIV  (11:52)

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Canon alla duodecima, 3:33   

This canon employs a complicated variation of the AOF subject that you will hear, as usual, stated at the outset and then followed after eight measures by a voice a twelfth ("duodecima") higher.

The structure of this canon is very similar to that of the canon at the tenth. It employs double counterpoint, with the second instance of the canon again at the octave.

You may notice a steady progression in the nature of the AOF canons. First, we heard a canon at the octave. Then came a canon at the tenth. It's hardly surprising that this one raises the interval an analogous amount to the twelfth. This kind of methodical progression is on display in even more detail in the Goldberg Variations.

Player image: On its way to Jupiter, the Galileo spacecraft discovered that asteroid have moons, too! Here is asteroid Ida, orbited by its tiny moon Dactyl (just visible at lower left, near the "C" in "Canon." Image credit: NASA.